Business for Peace Award
1759, Section: Opinion

Opinion

Russia’s Middle East policy after the G-20 summit

Published on 27 November 2014 by Vitaly Naumkin / al-monitor.com / First published Nov. 24 in Opinion

Relations between Russia and the United States, as well as between Russia and US-oriented European countries, further deteriorated following the G-20 summit in Brisbane due to the crisis in Ukraine. This poses the question for analysts as to how this situation might affect Moscow’s Middle East policy and the existing forms of cooperation with the West on regional issues, namely: The Middle East quartet of international mediators; the negotiations of the five permanent members of the UN Security Council plus Germany (P5+1) with Iran; the stabilization of the situation in Yemen; and the fight against terrorism.

Yemen’s Houthis proxy, not ally for Iran

Published on 25 November 2014 by Al-monitor.com Farea al-Muslimi in Opinion

Armed Houthis took over the reins of power in the Yemeni capital, Sana’a, in late September in a way that was reminiscent of Hezbollah’s takeover of the Lebanese capital, Beirut, in May 2008.

The vast majority of domestic violence shelters were established in Morocco after 2007. (Photo credit: Peter van der Sluijs)

Domestic violence shelters in Morocco are safe havens the government is failing to support

Published on 20 November 2014 by muftah.org Megan O’Donnell in Opinion

As I got into a cab outside of a Rabat train station a few months ago, my cab driver joked to another passenger and me, “if you don’t pay me enough, my wife is gonna beat me.

Middle Eastern Economies: Outlook, policy options, and the US role

Published on 20 November 2014 by Middle East Institute Zubair Iqbal in Opinion

Economic trends will provide a very important part of the context in which President Obama’s policies play out in the remainder of his term until January 2017.

Misconceptions of political Islam

Published on 20 November 2014 by huffingtonpost.com Soumaya Ghannoushi in Opinion

As soon as the Tunisian elections results were announced with Nidaa Tounes overtaking the Ennahdha party, celebrations of the “Islamists” defeat at the hands of the “secularists” got underway across the media in France and many other western capitals.

The rise of the Houthis

Published on 20 November 2014 by aljazeera.com Martin Reardon in Opinion

Yemen is burning. However, with bigger fires getting out of control in other parts of the world, it seems to have been relegated to the back page of mainstream media for most of the last few months

Fighting female genital mutilation

Published on 18 November 2014 by Mona Eltahawy / nytimes.com / First published Nov. 16 in Opinion

I am a 47-year-old Egyptian woman. And I am among the fortunate few of my countrywomen whose genitals have not been cut in the name of “purity” and the control of our sexuality.

Development plan needed for peace in Yemen

Published on 18 November 2014 by Farea Al-Muslimi \ al-monitor.com \ First published Nov. 14 in Opinion

Yemeni state institutions suffered a collapse after the fragile political process sponsored by Gulf states and the UN Security Council ground to a halt after three years. This collapse put a definitive end to Western praise for the Yemeni paradigm, considered by some as the model for solving conflicts in the region.

The blood antiquities funding ISIL

Published on 13 November 2014 by aljazeera.com Stephennie Mulder in Opinion

Recently, in an exclusive event at New York’s Metropolitan Museum, Secretary of State John Kerry stood—with perhaps unintended irony—before the facade of the ancient Egyptian Temple of Dendur to back an initiative to track losses of Syrian and Iraqi antiquities, including the destruction of monuments and looting of precious objects from archaeological sites.

Unveiled Iranian women who videotaped themselves dancing to Pharrell William’s global hit “Happy” were arrested for “hurting public chastity.”

Iran’s headscarf politics

Published on 11 November 2014 by Middle East Institute Fatemeh Aman in Opinion

Iranian women have long been in a cat-and-mouse game with the interpretation and enforcement of many aspects of Islamic law, but most especially the hijab. Since 1983, when the first written law was passed, the Islamic Republic has made it officially mandatory for women to wear the headscarf and loose clothing, with punishment for failing to comply ranging from lashes to imprisonment.

ADVERTISMENT