Business for Peace Award
1558, Section: Opinion

Opinion

The vast majority of domestic violence shelters were established in Morocco after 2007. (Photo credit: Peter van der Sluijs)

Domestic violence shelters in Morocco are safe havens the government is failing to support

Published on 20 November 2014 by muftah.org Megan O’Donnell in Opinion

As I got into a cab outside of a Rabat train station a few months ago, my cab driver joked to another passenger and me, “if you don’t pay me enough, my wife is gonna beat me.

Middle Eastern Economies: Outlook, policy options, and the US role

Published on 20 November 2014 by Middle East Institute Zubair Iqbal in Opinion

Economic trends will provide a very important part of the context in which President Obama’s policies play out in the remainder of his term until January 2017.

Misconceptions of political Islam

Published on 20 November 2014 by huffingtonpost.com Soumaya Ghannoushi in Opinion

As soon as the Tunisian elections results were announced with Nidaa Tounes overtaking the Ennahdha party, celebrations of the “Islamists” defeat at the hands of the “secularists” got underway across the media in France and many other western capitals.

The rise of the Houthis

Published on 20 November 2014 by aljazeera.com Martin Reardon in Opinion

Yemen is burning. However, with bigger fires getting out of control in other parts of the world, it seems to have been relegated to the back page of mainstream media for most of the last few months

Fighting female genital mutilation

Published on 18 November 2014 by Mona Eltahawy / nytimes.com / First published Nov. 16 in Opinion

I am a 47-year-old Egyptian woman. And I am among the fortunate few of my countrywomen whose genitals have not been cut in the name of “purity” and the control of our sexuality.

Development plan needed for peace in Yemen

Published on 18 November 2014 by Farea Al-Muslimi \ al-monitor.com \ First published Nov. 14 in Opinion

Yemeni state institutions suffered a collapse after the fragile political process sponsored by Gulf states and the UN Security Council ground to a halt after three years. This collapse put a definitive end to Western praise for the Yemeni paradigm, considered by some as the model for solving conflicts in the region.

The blood antiquities funding ISIL

Published on 13 November 2014 by aljazeera.com Stephennie Mulder in Opinion

Recently, in an exclusive event at New York’s Metropolitan Museum, Secretary of State John Kerry stood—with perhaps unintended irony—before the facade of the ancient Egyptian Temple of Dendur to back an initiative to track losses of Syrian and Iraqi antiquities, including the destruction of monuments and looting of precious objects from archaeological sites.

Unveiled Iranian women who videotaped themselves dancing to Pharrell William’s global hit “Happy” were arrested for “hurting public chastity.”

Iran’s headscarf politics

Published on 11 November 2014 by Middle East Institute Fatemeh Aman in Opinion

Iranian women have long been in a cat-and-mouse game with the interpretation and enforcement of many aspects of Islamic law, but most especially the hijab. Since 1983, when the first written law was passed, the Islamic Republic has made it officially mandatory for women to wear the headscarf and loose clothing, with punishment for failing to comply ranging from lashes to imprisonment.

Radicalism is a political problem, not an Islamic one

Published on 11 November 2014 by middleeasteye.net Mohamed Ghilanm in Opinion

In the midst of the ongoing discussions about the link between Islam and violence, and all the different “Islams” considered, one uncomfortable yet fundamental question remains unanswered: Is a Muslim allowed in principle to be violent, should the context justify such behavior?

Yemen: Learning from past mistakes

Published on 11 November 2014 by Wael Zakout in Opinion

Since the signing of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) Initiative that ended the political crisis in 2011, Yemen embarked on a political transition that was applauded by many regional and international powers. Above all, it saved Yemen from a terrible civil war.

ADVERTISMENT